Sunday Blessings – Highlights of My Day

What am I thankful for today?
This banana for one. It might be ugly to some, but in my eyes its a bowl of fresh banana ice cream waiting to happen! I have seen blended banana ice cream all over food blogs and I am anxiously waiting for this banana to ripen a bit more so I can make some for myself!

Ever since I gave up soda (“pop” as I used to call it until I moved south) for lent one year in middle school, I haven’t cared for it too much. Water is almost always my drink of choice, although sometimes I find myself craving the carbonation. I haven’t bought packs of soda to keep at home in a couple of years, but I saw some on sale for dirt cheap so picked up a case. Diet Coke is my fave and with zero calories, it’s an easy way to keep me from eating extra sweets. Having an occasional soda can be enough of a treat for me.

An even better treat are Honeycrisp apples. These were on sale too so I was sure to buy plenty to keep up with my apple addiction. Seriously, if apples weren’t so good for you, I would consider this a problem. But this has got to be one of the best, healthiest addictions in the world.

This might not be quite as healthy, but things could be a lot worse. Homemade baked sweet potato fries and an asparagus/mushroom medley. That’s what I had for dinner the other night. Details on that later, but let me just say, if you have never had sweet potato fries, find yourself some as soon as possible. Even though I don’t have any leftovers to eat today, I am drooling just looking at my pictures of the fries.
How are you spending your Sunday?

Leave a Reply

