Sunday Blessings – Making Changes

Good Sunday morning everyone! I hope you are all having a great weekend so far. I am 🙂

My weekend got off to a great start on Friday when I was let off work early. We had a day-long meeting,  (including being treated to lunch at Basil!) and wrapped up around 4:45. It was such a nice surprise to be allowed to leave then. I headed straight to the outlet mall to make a couple returns.

I have a problem of buying things with the mindset that I can always return it later. Sometimes it is due to impulse buying, but sometimes I really just don’t know if I like something so I buy it anyway just in case. My shopping spree last weekend resulted in a few of these purchases.

I bought myself a couple of new cell phone cases- why a couple? Well, you see I let the man in the booth talk me into it. “If you buy this one, you can get a second for $10!” Great deal, right? If I had a friend with me who also needed a case, it might have been a great deal. But two for myself? So unnecessary.

This is the lifesaver of a case that I have had on my phone since the day I bought it, before I even walked out of the store. The Otter Box, as it is called, has been nice to have since I drop my phone all.the.time. But it is so dang bulky. I was ready for something new. 
The two I bought last week were flowery and sparkly. But after a day of trying them each out, I realized they were not going to work. The rhinestones started falling off of the one and the other didn’t even stay on! 
Of course I bought these from the type of store that has a “no return” policy, except you can exchange within a week. I figured I could at least try to find something that worked a little better so I didn’t completely waste my money. 
I found these simple silicone cases that won’t protect as much at the Otter Box, but at least they will work better than those stupid plastic ones I bought the first time. Lesson learned. 
Greg met me at the outlets when he got off work and we grabbed dinner at Chick-Fil-A. I got my most favorite salad: Southwest Chargrilled Salad with none other than… Berry Balsamic Vinaigrette.
Since I was extra healthy with the salad, I thought it would be okay to use the free milkshake coupon I have been hoarding for months. Greg and I split a vanilla shake, but the cherry on top was all mine. No sharing there.
Yesterday was a pretty good day of football for Greg and I. Both of our teams won! Finally. It was nice to be on the winning side of things again. At least for this week. Next week is going to be a different story. OSU vs. Wisconsin. Uh-oh. Times ten. 
Now I am about to go grocery shopping to stock up on healthy food. Last week I told myself I was going to get back on track with eating healthfully again. Instead, I ended up eating out a lot. As in almost every day, which is something I never used to do. I also ate almost an entire bag of pralines Greg brought home from Louisiana last weekend. Whoops.
I am excited to start working out and eating like I used to, even if that means fighting for the treadmill in the gym at six in the morning or not letting myself lick the spoon clean when making cupcakes 🙂 Gotta make sacrifices to reach your goals!
One thought on “Sunday Blessings – Making Changes

Leave a Reply

