Sunday Blessings – It Could Always Be Worse

Good morning! I am having quite the productive weekend. I have fit in some exercising, shopping, baking, resting, hanging out with friends and plenty of football watching.

Like the Ohio State game last night. That was a great one, huh? Great as in unbelievably disappointing. Going into the game, my friends and I agreed that we were expecting to lose and we just had to get through it. Then, the team actually played unusually well compared to the rest of the season and was leading by more than 20 points. It wasn’t enough though, because we still lost. Ugh. I still can’t believe it.

Now OSU is 3-3.

You know what? It could always be worse. 3-3 looks better than 0-6 or even 1-5.

I try to remember this with any difficult time in life. Of course there are plenty of times I am upset about something and get down on myself. If you can remember to tell yourself, “It can always be worse,” I found that it really does help to be positive about the situation.

When my friends and I went to dinner the other night, I got the shrimp quesadilla (more like a flatbread if you ask me, but that’s besides the point).

Yum. Yum. Yum. 
When our bills came, we were all a little shocked with how much we had just spent. This wasn’t the type of mexican restaurant we normally go to, with enormous margaritas for just a few dollars during happy hour and cheap food. This was a little more upscale and while everything was great, my friends and I decided that isn’t the type of restaurant we should go to too often…for our wallets’ sake.
Again, although I spent more than I wanted to and had a little “buyer’s remorse,” I am thankful I can afford to spend quality time with friends over a delicious meal. What would have been worse, is if we paid that much and the food wasn’t even good. Or if I didn’t have any money in my bank account to pay for the food at all.
I try to keep my spending on a budget as much as possible. Sometimes I go a little crazy (like at the Old Navy outlet yesterday…40% of everything!?…how could you not go crazy), and while I realize it is not smart to splurge all the time, everyone once it awhile it won’t hurt. Or, it won’t hurt too badly anyway 🙂
I am so blessed to have what I have. Even if that includes a football team that is 3-3.
It could always be worse.
2 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – It Could Always Be Worse

  1. Your attitude is real wisdom and I find it mentally healthy to live by the same adage I heard all my life, “If this is the worst thing that happens to you you'll be OK”!
    Mamanon will smile to read this post and so do I!

    Like

Leave a Reply

