Flavors of the Week

Happy happy Friday! Guess who has the day off?

ME!

I feel like you probably don’t think I ever work on Fridays. For the past several weeks I have had a few Fridays off, but that is all about to change. This was our busy season at work, so we had extended hours, including Sundays. Whoever worked the Sunday shift got the following Friday off. I worked Sunday this past Sunday, therefore have today off. Get it now?

Well, starting Monday we go back to our normal schedule so no special three days weekends anymore. But no extra short one day weekends either!

I will be making the most of this long weekend, because Greg and I are going to Charlotte for his family reunion. Of course, I’m not going empty handed. I made a little somethin’-somethin’ but that’s for another time.

I treated myself to a few…well, treats that I want to tell you about. And the flavor of my week was pumpkin.

It started with what was supposed to be an innocent stroll inside of Starbucks to pick up a tea to take to work. Instead, this giant iced pumpkin scone captured my eye and the rest is history.
I remember having one of these last year and absolutely loved it. Maybe my expectations were a little too high, because this was good, but didn’t quite hit the spot like I thought it would.
A few days later I stole a slice of bread from Great Harvest. 
Ok, I didn’t steal it. But they give free samples of such big slices I always feel so bad walking in for the sample and leaving. I usually browse around and stare wide-eyed at the enormous muffins, scones and cookies in the display. And then I leave. I guess I probably look more strange doing that than if I just left right away, huh?
I might have to go back and buy a loaf of this bread though, because that sample was toooo good. It was pumpkin bread filled with a fruit, nut and cinnamon swirl. 
And then there was the frozen yogurt time. 
My office is about four minutes from the shopping center where Menchie’s is (and Starbucks and Great Harvest actually). But I am proud to say this was the first time I let the temptation get to me while I was at work. I had the late shift and was heading back to the office around 7pm and NEEDED this fro yo to  get me through the next few hours of work. 
Mission accomplished. I mixed a little brownie batter yogurt with NY cheesecake yogurt. Then topped it with oreos, frosted animal crackers, and caramel syrup. Delish. 
Normally my favorite thing about Menchie’s is that I can eat my dessert, but still be healthy with small-ish portions and fruit toppings. That just wasn’t going to do it for me this night though. But hey, everything in moderation 😉
I can’t wait until Menchie’s gets pumpkin yogurt…I know it’s only a matter of time. 
Not that I need more pumpkin….just to summarize, within the past week or so I’ve had: a pumpkin scone, pumpkin bread, pumpkin smoothie, pumpkin pancakes (twice!), anddd some other pumpkin things I haven’t told you about yet. Like oatmeal and ice cream. 
Oh my goodness I’m going to turn into a pumpkin!
I could live with that. 
4 thoughts on “Flavors of the Week

  1. OMG I love it so much!!! I want to eat something pumpkin everyday for the whole month of October…I had a slice of pumpkin pie from Bob Evan's last Sunday and I cannot stop thinking about it. Love you!!

    Like

  2. I am having a 'High Tea' Premier Design jewelry party on Oct. 8 and will be serving Scones and hot tea selections. Won't an assortment of scones including pumpkin be perfect! Might bake some from great scone mixes from TJ's and Marshall's or just buy them from Panera's or Harvest Breads. I'm waiting for your recipe before I bake from scratch. 🙂
    Wish you could be here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

