Pumpkin Pancakes X 2

I’m a little late on the National Pancake Day bandwagon. FYI, the holiday was this past Monday. Just because I’m late on the blogging though, doesn’t mean I didn’t celebrate. And boy did I celebrate.

On Monday, Greg and I had BFD. 
Some of you may know that those are my initials (minus one letter….yes, I have two middle names, which I hear makes me even more southern-like). But that also stands for Breakfast For Dinner. 
Greg doesn’t like pumpkin (only a little bit crazy, right?), so I was kind enough to make him regular pancakes. I, on the other hand, came up with best pancakes the season of fall could ever ask for. 
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pancakes. The pumpkin flavor was faint, but still noticeable. 
The pancakes were served with maple sausage links and cheesy scrambled eggs on the side. Mmmm, mmmm. That night, Greg and I once again proclaimed our love for breakfast for dinner.
On Tuesday afternoon, I got a text from Greg that said, “How do you feel about making BFD again?”
Done.
Maybe this National Pancake Day thing should be turned into Pancake Week. Actually, there probably already is a pancake week. There’s a week for everything so I wouldn’t be surprised. 

I knew I would be making the pumpkin pancakes again, no questions asked. Only this time, I had to make one modification. Ok, two modifications. Wait, wait, THREE modifications.

1. Add more pumpkin puree.
2. Add butterscotch chips in addition to the chocolate chips.
3. Double the recipe.

Now we’re talkin.

BFD two nights in a row was such a good idea. I don’t think I could have made it a third, but two was perfect. It gave me the chance to work on the pancake recipe to get it juuuust right and relive the heavenliness.

We also switched up the side dishes for the second night. I had spicy sausage patties and a sliced apple (had to squeeze a little healthfulness in there). Our sausage patties were much better than the links I had bought only because they were on sale. I won’t be buying those again. Then again, the links were about half the calories so maybe it would be worth it. Yeahhh maybe not. Flavor wins out on this one.

I cannot express enough how much I {heart} pancakes. If pancakes had their own country, I would be the president…or princess. I would rather be a princess than a president.

When I go to a restaurant that serves breakfast all day, like my childhood fave Bob Evans, I rarely stray from the breakfast menu. But we’ve talked about this before.

I hope you’re not sick of pumpkin yet, because it’s not going anywhere anytime soon! Still to come: pumpkin cookies, cupcakes, oatmeal and cake bars.

Pumpkin Pancakes
(Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)

Makes about 6 medium pancakes

Ingredients*:
1 1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 2/3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup milk (I used skim)
2 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil
1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons chocolate chips
2 tablespoons butterscotch chips

Directions:
1. Grease large skillet and place over medium-low heat.
2. Meanwhile, combine first five ingredients in a medium bowl. Add wet ingredients and whisk until just combined.
3. Add pumpkin puree and candy chips. Stir until evenly incorporated.
4. Pour batter onto heated skillet to desired size. Cook until batter becomes bubbly then flip. Cook another 2-3 minutes**. Avoid flipping pancakes more than once.
5. Repeat until all batter is used. Serve pancakes warm and top with whipped cream and/or syrup.

*Proportions of ingredients for the recipe shown here were increased from the original recipe to make the amount I needed. That is why some of the measurements seem a bit odd.

**Tip- If you are anything like me, waiting on pancakes to took can make you very impatient. But it really is best to cook pancakes on low heat for a longer period of time, rather than turning up the heat to cook them more quickly.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pancakes X 2

  1. I have always preferred blueberry pancakes but I think my taste buds would appreciate this change to pumpkin at least at this time of year. I'm working on delayed gratification so cooking my pancakes slowly is a great tip and lesson to learn. Thanks as always! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

