Double Chocolate Cupcake for a Birthday Boy!

Happy 5th Birthday to my Sweet Mauro!


             
I cannot believe this precious boy, who I am blessed enough to call my cousin, is FIVE YEARS OLD today. I started babysitting him on a very regular basis when I was still in high school and he was just a few months old. We have the most special bond and I am about to tear up just thinking about it! 
I missed him soooo much when I moved to Charleston for college. I was extremely homesick in general those first several weeks away at school, so my mom bought me a flight home just in time for Mauro’s first birthday party! I was so excited I got to go and even more excited to surprise my Aunt Angela, Mauro’s mom (since I knew Mauro wouldn’t actually know the difference whether I was there or not). 
There he is about to dig into his 1st Birthday cupcake.
Although I would love more than anything to be with him to celebrate his 5th birthday today, I can’t. That is why I am sending my love and birthday wishes through the internet. 
Mauro, you’re in kindergarden now so maybe you can read this? You always were the smartest baby I knew. (Seriously people, he is a genius). I love you and miss you SO much! 
I will enjoy this double chocolate cupcake with vanilla frosting for the both of us today. I owe you one you can eat for yourself next time I see you. 
Happy Birthday Mauro!!! 
I hope everyone has a great day. We’re half way through the week, YAY!
Double Chocolate Cupcakes (For Two)
(Adapted from Dessert For Two)
Makes 2 large cupcakes
Ingredients:
1/3 cup flour
4 teaspoons cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
4 teaspoons vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a standard size muffin tin, place paper liners in two wells and fill the remaining wells half way with water (to allow for even cooking).
2. In a medium bowl sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and baking powder. 
3. In a separate small bowl combine oil, vanilla and brown sugar until well combined.
4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, alternating between oil mixture and milk. Stir until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
5. Pour batter into the two muffin tin liners and bake for 16-18 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. 
6. Let cool completely before frosting with your choice of flavor (I used Pillsbury Vanilla). Top with sprinkles if desired. 

3 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Cupcake for a Birthday Boy!

  1. I remember well the joys of that first year with Mauro and Nitny! This 5 year birthday tribute is like no other gift he will receive. The Bond between you; your blog; your cupcakes and cookies; your appreciation and expression of Life are so exceptional–just like You! You make my everyday better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

