Cheesy Apple Sandwiches

A few months ago I was introduced to the cheese and apple combination. Now that I think about it, I always knew the two went well together. Cheese plates are often served with fruits like apples and grapes. And I love a good cheese plate (wine required).

I was pleasantly surprised when I tried the sandwich for the first time, but kind of forgot about it until yesterday. I didn’t have any regular bread in the house, but did have Arnold Sandwich Thins. I love those things by the way. So that was the first variation. The second? I have been dying for a grilled cheese sandwich, and thought a grilled apple and cheese sandwich would be just as good!

Well, I was only partly right. It was good. But I liked it better on normal sandwich bread. Sandwich thins don’t toast as well. As much as I love them, they are best left in their natural form.
I also used provolone cheese, when cheddar is really the way to go. I knew this instantly after my first bite, so I jumped up from my seat to grab the cheddar and tucked some inside the sandwich. The cheddar helped liven up the sandwich, in flavor and color. And we all know how important it is for the food to look pretty. I really liked the combination of different cheeses, rather than just one over the other. 
Unfortunately, I was too hungry to get this cheesy model back in a presentable condition for photographs. I ate her without giving her a second chance with the camera.
It may not look like anything fancy, and it’s not, but if you need a light, simple sandwich to throw together, this is a good choice. 

But it can use some work. I’ll let you know when it reaches perfection 🙂
Have you ever made grilled apple and cheese sandwiches? Are there any other ingredients that go well with them?
Cheesy Apple Sandwich
Makes 1 sandwich
Ingredients:
1 Sandwich thin (or two slices of your choice of bread)
2 teaspoons butter
1/3 medium apple, sliced
1-2 slices of cheese (I recommend using at lease one slice of cheddar)
Directions:
1. Heat skillet over medium heat. Spread butter on one side of each slice of bread. 
2. Place one slice of bread, butter-side down on skillet and top with cheese and apple slices. Lay other slice of bread on top, butter-side up. 
3. Cook 1-2 minutes. Flip sandwich and cook another 1-2 minutes. 
4. Remove from heat and serve warm. 
Leave a Reply

