Sunday Blessings – Always By Our Side

“Footprints in the Sand” is one of my favorite poems. Most have you have probably read it countless times, but in case you haven’t read it, it is about how God carries us through the difficult times in our lives. He is constantly by our side and lifting us up when we need him the most. 
If that is not encouraging, I don’t know what is.
I love this verse too:
“Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.”
-Deuteronomy 31:6

Poems and Bible verses about courage, strength and fearlessness lift me up more than any others. No matter how big or small a problem is that I am dealing with, reading something like that verse above always usually works to keep me positive. I’m only human and I will make the mistake of not trusting God at times. 
Even though my brothers can carry Brooke and I through the sand, we live most of our lives hundreds of miles apart from each other. God is right next to us throughout the entire day. 
I have learned that God will always take care of me as long as I put my faith in him. He is there for us to lean on and ask for help when we need it. Not only is He there for us, but he actually wants us to ask him for help.
I remember the weeks leading up to and following my graduation in May. I was beginning to panic because I did not have a job lined up. I had interviewed for a couple of positions, but nothing was looking too good. I was becoming desperate and about to start applying for waitress positions, something I really did not want to have to do. I remember going to the pool most afternoons (that was one perk of being jobless- I could lay at the pool all day and work on my tan!) and closing my eyes to pray as hard as I could that God would help me find the right job. I was scared and asked him to somehow help me figure out how I was going to pay for everything I needed in life. 
Then one day, I had just finished moving out of my old apartment and into the new one when I got the phone call offering me the job. I was ecstatic. I realized God had been looking out for me the whole time. Not only was He teaching me to trust Him, but He was also teaching me about patience. I can’t expect my prayers to be answered instantly, but they will be answered in God’s time. 
Just this past week, I had to call on Him for courage to speak with people about touchy subjects and to motivate me to get out of bed early in the morning to fit a workout into my day. He provides me with mental and physical strength, and sometimes even puts me through a little pain in the form of a headache to let me know I’m overworking myself. But He always relieves that pain after a nice nap 🙂 
When God helps me through these smaller challenges, it prepares me for when I need Him for the bigger things. He’s a smart man (or woman maybe?…but I honestly doubt it). He knows what he is doing with our lives and trusting in Him is all we can do. 

3 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – Always By Our Side

Leave a Reply

