Tailgate Treats

All last week I was looking forward to the Auburn football game at Clemson this past Saturday. I was excited for the game itself, but the tailgate was a large part of that excitement. Tailgate = a good great excuse to bake some themed treats!

Being from Columbus, I was born and raised a proud OSU fan. And I still am. I do admit, it’s a little more difficult to support the Buckeyes from so far away and having so many haters down here doesn’t help either. I may not be able to catch every game, but my heart is and always will bleed scarlet and gray.

Greg on the other hand is all about the Auburn Tigers. After more than three years of dating the guy, I now consider myself an Auburn fan by association. Since his parents are Clemson grads, I decided to stick with the mutual color of orange.

I used my go-to sugar cookie recipe. I honestly don’t know if I will ever use another recipe besides this one. These are too perfect and delicious. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!
I also made brownies from scratch for the first time. I couldn’t wait to use the Trader Joe’s cocoa powder I bought!
I always seem to find myself scraping the bowl clean with a spatula to get every last bit of dough or batter off of the mixing bowls while I bake. I don’t do this to add to what’s already in the pan. I do this so I have a snack while my treats are cooking, duh! 
As good as cookie dough is, the finished product really always is better. I try to remember that while I bake so I don’t eat too much dough in the process. 
Brownie batter on the other hand might be better than finished product. I love it. Mmmm. Mmmm. 
Ok, maybe there have been a few extra fudgy, chewy brownies in my life that were better than the batter ever could be. But not this time. 
I wasn’t too satisfied with these brownies. They were just okay. Not great. The brownie itself was decent, but I tried to get fancy with a white chocolate spread on top. 
Note to self: Brownies and white chocolate don’t work (I bet you guys could have warned me about that, huh?).
It helped spruce up their appearance, but that was pretty much all it did. 
I will not be defeated by a poor performance. Brownies, I will be back to conquer you. 
In the meantime, we will focus on the cookies! 

Wait, where did they go???
In case you need it again, here is the recipe for those amazing smile-makers. 
Brownies
(Adapted from Hershey’s)
Makes 16 brownies
Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
For the topping:
1/2 cup white chocolate morsels, melted
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9-inch baking pan.
2. In a medium bowl, stir together butter, sugar and vanilla. Add eggs and stir well. 
3. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, cocoa baking powder and salt. 
4. Gradually add flour mixture to egg mixture until well combined.
5. Spread batter evenly in pan and bake 20-25 minutes.
6. Cool completely and frost with white chocolate.

5 thoughts on “Tailgate Treats

  1. Yea, once a Buckeye always a Buckeye! You do us proud in so many ways.. Cookies and cupcakes only a part but still a great accomplishment! Might you ever take orders for shipping? 🙂

    Like

  2. I will place an order for shipping too! Can you do overnight so we have them in time for our Wedensday tailgate. Please use scarlet and gray icing!

    Like

  3. OSU plays Michigan on Sunday (Soccer). Let's put an order in for 4 dozen Iced sugar cookies with an assortment of soccer balls, OSU and the number 5 (jersey number). Just plan to ship them Thursday for overnight delivery on Friday.

    Like

  4. Make the above order worth you while; we could place a standing order during soccer season!
    'CCBB'……..Cupcakes/Cookies By Britt! “Delicious from Dahn to Dusk”
    Specializing in Tailgate and Graduation parties!

    Like

Leave a Reply

