Sunday Blessings – The People in My Life

This morning I am feeling especially thankful for all of the people in my life.

Here is a small fraction of those people. These are my cousins….from ONE side of the family. Twenty seven of us on my mom’s side. Another 16 on my dad’s side. 
Being surround by so many cousins growing up was so normal to me, I never realized how unusual it is to come by such as large family!

“He who walks with wise men will be wise, but the companion of fools will be destroyed.”
-Proverbs 13:20

I don’t know about you, but I would rather not be “destroyed.” Know what I’m sayin’? I think I will stick to surrounding myself with wisdom.

I know how blessed I am with such a big, tight-knit and loving family. The foundation of values that my parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles have taught me growing up have made me who I am today. They are all so wise and have shared that wisdom with me.

I was just thinking how interesting it is to really think about the different roles that everyone in your life plays. Think of all of the relationships you have with each person and how different those relationships are from one another. Everybody has wisdom to share with each other from their own experiences that someone else can benefit from.

Just last night I spent an hour text messaging my sister Brooke, because I knew she was the only person who could understand and relate to what I wanted to share with her at that time. I love the relationship Brooke and I have. Of course as teenage sisters, we had our screaming fights that lasted all of up to ten minutes. But all it took was a suggestion for a trip to the mall or Chipotle and we were back to being best friends.

Obviously there are things I do with Brooke that I would never do with my brothers. There are things I talk about with my mom that I would never talk about with my dad. There are things I write on this blog for all of you that I wouldn’t necessarily say out loud.

There are some people in my life I talk to ten times a day. Then, there are family and friends I only talk to every week or month.

This doesn’t make my relationship with these people any less significant. It is just different. And each relationship is so important to me. I really hope everyone in my life knows how much I love them and care about them, no matter how much we talk or see each other.

If you are reading this right now, I am so thankful for having you as a reader. My passion for food, blogging, and the combination of the two is made worthy because of the people who read this.

I am thankful for every single person in my life. I truly believe our relationships with other people are all part of God’s plan. So thank you for being a part of my journey.

I know what my grandma GG is saying right now…”Don’t thank me, thank God.” And GG is one of the wisest people I know.

So while I want you all to know I am thankful for YOU, I must also say “thank you” to the one who created us all for each other. Thank you, God.

Happy Sunday!

P.S. To my family in Myrtle Beach right now for my cousin’s soccer game: I wish I could be there! Go Bucks!!!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – The People in My Life

  1. I can't think of a bettie way to Thank Him for You than on my knees! Thank You for this blog that touches lives with good food suggestions and a beautiful 'Upped' Attitude!

    Like

Leave a Reply

