Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Life is complicated.

And so are these cookies.
But not complicated in the way they are made. In fact, they were so fast and easy that I make the cookie dough and got them in oven in less than ten minutes. Another ten minutes later and I was simultaneously pulling them out of the oven and putting them into my mouth. 
What is complicated about these cookies is the texture and flavor. With just a single bite, your taste buds won’t know what to do with themselves. And that’s a good thing if you were wondering.

The warmness of the cinnamon combined with the chewiness of the oatmeal and raisins might be enough for some. 
But not for me.
If only I could go back to the days of being a picky-eating little blonde girl that was satisfied with the most simple foods. Yes, I can still appreciate a standard oatmeal-raisin cookie, but when I get in the kitchen to make them myself, my creativity spills out uncontrollably. I’m no longer blonde like I was when I was five, although sometimes I try to be. I’m giving up on that because it’s just too expensive of a dream to pursue. So pardon my ugly dark roots for awhile. I’m no longer the least bit picky either. So don’t mind me while I throw in some walnuts, chocolate chips and butterscotch to the mix. 
I once told myself I didn’t care for butterscotch too much. Ummmm, I was wrong. The butterscotch chips MADE these cookies. It was the key component.
Now go make yourself some cookies, you deserve it! 🙂
Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
(Adapted from Sugar Plum)
Makes about 2 dozen cookies
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 cups quick-cooking oats
10 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup raisins
1/4 cup walnuts*
1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup butterscotch chips
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Whisk in oats until combined.
3. In a large bowl, combine melted butter and brown sugar. Beat together on medium speed until well combined. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Beat in flour mixture until just combined. 
4. Add raisins, nuts, chocolate and butterscotch chips to mixture. Gently fold in all ingredients until combined. 
5. Scoop spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheets and gently flatten to about 1/4-inch thick. 
6. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for up to 5-10 minutes. Serve warm or cooled. 
*I used walnuts. The originally recipe calls for pecans. I say use whatever nuts you like or already have on hand!
One thought on “Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. BFAD, two things come to my mind as I read this post…..These are already Paw's favorite cookie even before the delux version and I also remember when your Dad baked cookies when you were 5 (and blonde) and the only thing out was the bowl of cookie dough. I think he used each ingredient and immediately put it away as taught by Grandma Peg he says.
    Yummy to ALL warm cookies and milk!

    Like

Leave a Reply

