Sunday Blessings – Remember.

Remember the good times. Remember the bad times. Remember to tell your loved ones how much you care. Remember to give thanks. 

There is a lot to remember in life.
I came across this saying on Twitter a few days ago and it really made me think–“What if you woke up today with the only things you thanked God for yesterday?”
I have probably heard that at some point in my life, but I can’t remember (like I said, we have a lot to remember!). 
If this saying were true, I wouldn’t be left with much. Yes, I would have my family and friends, and some days I would be left with my condo, my job and my cupcakes. I really do try to thank God everyday, but how am I supposed to thank him for everything I am going to need tomorrow? That might just be impossible. But we can only try to do the best we can.
So much of my life is on auto pilot. I don’t think twice about waking up in the morning and getting myself out of bed. But some people can’t do that by themselves. I don’t think twice as I reach into the cupboard for the box of cereal to eat for breakfast, and at the same time pull out the food I will pack for lunch. But some people don’t get a bite of food throughout an entire day (or longer). 
I wish out of all of the random, sometimes unimportant things I do remember in life (like what time the new episode Kardashians will come on, or that a new show actually won’t be on, because the finale was last week) I would remember the most important thing: to tell God a simple and sincere, “Thank you.”
So what does the picture of the donut at the top of the post have to do with anything? Well, yes, I am thankful for donuts. But this isn’t just any donut. It’s a pumpkin donut. When I picked it out of the box at work last week, I thought it was chocolate. When I took a bite, the pumpkin spice hit my tongue and the orange color popped in my eyes. It was the most pleasant surprise. Pumpkin flavored food and drinks slowly entering the world again are a sure-tell sign that fall is near. 
I know I’m not the only one who loves fall. Everybody loves fall, don’t they? The weather, the football, the PUMPKIN. 
God, thank you for all of these things.
I don’t want to wake up tomorrow without pumpkin. 
One thought on “Sunday Blessings – Remember.

Leave a Reply

