Shrimp Pasta

I have been trying to be as disciplined as possible with sticking to my monthly budget. When it came time to plan dinner for last night, I wanted to use ingredients I already had at home without having to go grocery shopping. 
Hm…what could I make with canned vegetables, lettuce, a chocolate bar and crackers? Not much. If you can think of something, let me know.
I was about to give up and make a run for Publix when I remembered the shrimp in the freezer. Greg and I bought this shrimp straight off the boat a few weeks ago. We cooked some then, but have had another pound or two in the freezer for a rainy day. 
It wasn’t rainy yesterday, actually it was the exact opposite. Just beautiful outside. But with nothing else to cook, I felt like a downpour could happen any second. This shrimp saved the day.

When my mom visited a few weeks ago, she brought me a bag full of Trader Joe’s goodies. This penne pasta was one of those items and was just what I needed to pair with the shrimp. 
Mixed with vodka sauce and chopped scallions, this dish came together so well. 

One thing to note–the sauce seemed extra runny. My hypothesis (look at me bringing in the science lingo from 7th grade!) is that since the noodles did not have any texture to them like most pennes do, the sauce was not being absorbed at all. The noodles were very slippery so the sauce didn’t stick. What do you think? Should we conduct an experiment, analyze the data and make a conclusion while we’re at it? 
And yes, I did just Google the steps to the Scientific Method just to be sure I was saying that correctly. I’m a nerd. 
Shrimp Pasta

Serves 2
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups dry penne*
1/2 pound raw shrimp, peeled, deveined and tails removed
2 tablespoons butter
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup white wine
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup canned vodka sauce
1/4 cup chopped scallions
Directions:
1. Bring medium pot of water to a boil. Add pasta and cook according to package directions (about 8-10 minutes).
2. Meanwhile, heat butter over medium heat on a skillet. Once melted, add garlic to skillet and cook for two minutes.
3. Add shrimp to skillet and cook for about a minute before adding wine and salt. Gently stir and flip shrimp for even cooking.
4. When pasta is done cooking, drain and return to pan. Add vodka sauce to pasta and stir to combine. 
5. Serve pasta topped with shrimp and scallions. Drizzle with more sauce if desired.
*I used penne, but almost any pasta will work–angel hair or tortellini would be great too.  
2 thoughts on “Shrimp Pasta

  1. Leftover pasta is generally better the 2nd day because the sauce is absorbed even more into the pasta. And the best remedy for loose sauce anytime is a hunk of Italian bread to soak up the 'zoom' (as Mamanon called it when I was growing up). 🙂
    You are so talented and versatile in your cooking and so skilled in your writing. The recipes are great too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

