DC Cupcakes Galore, Part 1

Warning: Be prepared for the unnecessary very necessary amount of cupcake-related pictures below.

I got a double dose of cupcake bakeries in D.C. so I will spare you an extremely long post about cupcakes, which probably bore you much more than I realize, and break it up over the course of two days.

I only had a couple things on my to-do list while in D.C. this weekend. Visiting the TLC show star Georgetown Cupcake was one of them. The other bakery (find out which one tomorrow) ended up being a surprise encounter and an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.

Despite the “over-rated” reviews that I read about Georgetown Cupcake, I am so happy I went! And my family seemed okay with me dragging them along too (They ate the cupcakes just as quickly as I did).
So, we paid a RIDICULOUS amount of money to park in Georgetown and headed to the bakery. A twenty-minute long line later, we were inside and surrounded by happiness. Ok, maybe it was a little more craziness than happiness. Standing in line really wasn’t that big of a deal anyway, because were we handed a menu so we could get started on the difficult choice ahead of us! By the time we all decided what we would order, it was our turn to go inside. 
Ahhhhhhhhh. This is what I have been waiting for!
Brooke was just as excited as I was.
Even though we could have stuck around to eat the cupcakes in the bakery and get the full experience, there really wasn’t much seating with the crowd of people and all of us were ready to get home anyway.
The anxiety was building the whole way back. Good thing there was a sticker holding the box closed, or else I would have had to eat one on the drive. I don’t know when a little sticker became stronger than I am, but somehow it was. 
I guess you probably want me to explain what each one of these is? Starting from the upper left and going clockwise: Vanilla Birthday, Coconut, Peanut Butter Fudge, Mint Cookies and Creme, Salted Caramel, Chocolate Ganache. 
 
Since each of us wanted to try a little of everything, the cupcakes were cut into fourths and from there……it was a free-for-all. 
Those cupcakes didn’t stand a chance.
My favorite were the Vanilla Birthday and Coconut. The Mint Cookies and Creme was one of my choices to order, but that was probably my biggest disappointment. I could taste the mint, but would have liked more cookie flavor. I discovered the mint frosting went best with the chocolate cake base from the Chocolate Ganache cupcake.
I wouldn’t call these “amazing,” but they were worth the trip and experience. They were definitely good cupcakes. As a frosting lover, I would say they needed a little (a lot?) more of that.

Georgetown Cupcake on Urbanspoon
2 thoughts on “DC Cupcakes Galore, Part 1

  1. You didn't save me a bite of the coconut?! How dare you. Just kidding. I've had several cupcake experiences that left me wondering “This place is really that famous?” Ahem, Crumbs in NYC….maybe I just had an old cupcake? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

