Sunday Blessings – On the Seventh Day

“On the seventh day God had finished his work of creation, so he rested from all his work.”
-Genesis
...And ate ice cream.
Or maybe I made that part up. But that’s how I like to spend my days of rest…eating ice cream, that is.
This past week I had to work everyday from Sunday through Friday. Six long days of work. Not that you needed me to count for you. On that seventh day of the week (yesterday), I finally got a day of much needed rest. 
I can’t think of a much better way I would have liked to spend that time off than with some family, exploring a new city. In a big city like D.C., there are so many places to go and sights to see that it’s not exactly the most physically relaxing vacation. But it is very mentally relaxing.
Anytime I’m with that beauty up there on the left, I know I will have fun. The most difficult decision I have had to make is what flavor ice cream and cupcakes to get! That can be a little stressful, but I’m not complaining about eating ice cream and cupcakes. 
So it’s a good thing I’m not being completely lazy and just sitting around all weekend. We are getting plenty of walking into our days, to help balance the excessive sugar intake. Not to mention overstuffed sandwiches and deep-dish pizza. Don’t worry, I won’t leave you out of this heavenly food forever. I know the anticipation is killing you, but try to hang on a little longer. 
Today, I get another day of rest! And tomorrow too. 
I wonder if God’s “seventh day” was extra long…like three-day weekend long. I hope it was. And I hope He ate a ginormous waffle cone filled with the creamiest ice cream ever–one scoop of blueberry cheesecake and one scoop of cinnamon. 
3 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – On the Seventh Day

  1. Brittany, my dear Brittany, you make me so happy and I smile so big when I read your blogs. I love that you love God and your family like you do. We are all so lucky to have you in our lives! “You deserve the best and the best isn't good enough”, a quote from Madelyn C Gardner.
    I love you, Mom

    Like

  2. Sweet Britt, Blueberry cheesecake is MY favorite too…next to your blog!! Ry is looking good as is that 'Beauty' on the left that reflects the Beauty on the right! Must be the bright Soul lights shinning through!

    Like

Leave a Reply

