Hurricane Through My Kitchen!

Ok, ok…Hurricane Irene didn’t actually come through my kitchen. But it kinda looked like it. My mom would not approve.
I have been unbelievably busy at work this week and have had no energy by the time I come home, which hasn’t been until 10pm some days. By no energy, I mean zero energy. But a girl has to eat. So I somehow managed to find the strength to make dinner each night, but by no means had any interest in cleaning up. Needless to say, the dishes have been building and it was not pretty.
My dinner last night consisted of blueberry pancakes and wine. No, I’m not kidding. Pancakes and wine. I don’t know how or why I decided to combine the two, but it happened. Stress can make you do funny things. And all I can say is, ‘Don’t knock it ’til you try it.’ 
Something else you need to try….Red velvet cookies.
Allow me to introduce you to Red Velvet Cookies. Maybe you have had one before, but I hardly knew such a thing existed. I love red velvet cakes so I had a good feeling about these. I didn’t make them myself. In fact, they’re not even homemade. These are store-bought red velvet cookies. But they are Lofthouse brand. And if you are buying cookies from the store, you can’t go wrong with Lofthouse. 
A co-worker brought these into the office the other day right before I was about to eat my lunch, but I couldn’t resist. They were as just good as I expected. I have made sugar cookies that taste just like Lofthouse’s, but now I can’t wait to try red velvet! 

I left for work this morning, not looking forward to another crazy day. I didn’t even have time to put a blog post up. Then, at lunch I was told by a co-worker that our managers were discussing the possibility of closing early because of the hurricane headed our way. He said not to get my hopes up, but that was the best news I could have heard and my hopes were up!

I wasn’t let down either. Although there hasn’t been too much rain (yet), I got off at 3:30. That gave me more than an entire hour of extra free time. What a nice Friday surprise 🙂

And if my day wasn’t already getting better, I got home to find a perfectly clean kitchen! Dishwasher emptied, dirty dishes washed, counters cleaned, and trash taken outside. I didn’t realize I had a cleaning genie! Or maybe I just have a handy boyfriend 🙂

Unfortunately, I had to cancel happy hour plans with a friend. The rain and wind is only supposed to intensify from here on so I wanted to be safe and not worry about driving 25 minutes into downtown, over bridges, etc.

Fortunately, now I have some time to blog and bake like I wouldn’t have been able to do before!

So here I am on a Friday evening, blogging away and enjoying some warm freshly baked goods…that will most likely be my dinner. What did I bake you ask? You will just have to wait and see tomorrow 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hurricane Through My Kitchen!

  1. And gladly wait I will! Plus I like anything 'baked' and your blog is worth reading even if I don't 'bake it'!
    So happy Irene didn't stop by or stay for dinner 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

