Healthy Asian Stir-Fry

I always forget about Asian food. Whenever I am trying to come up with what to make for dinner, it rarely enters my head as a possibility. I mean, the only thing I can really make that can be classified as Asian is stir-fry. But there are 275309485 different combinations and ways to make stir-fry. Yes, I counted them all. Each of these ways can taste completely different depending on the ingredients you use.

I had some newly-purchased brussel sprouts in the fridge and was thinking of what I would do with them. Then I realized I actually had a variety of fresh veggies that needed to be used. Onions. Broccoli. Carrots.

Perfect for stir-fry! My dear Asian food, I will not neglect you any longer!

I cut some chicken breasts into chunks to add to the mix as well. I topped it off with a thickened soy sauce and served on top of brown rice.
Everything about this dish- the veggies, chicken and rice- is healthy. Full of fiber, protein and vitamins. From a lot of health magazine reading that I do, I have learned one trick to be sure you are getting plenty of vitamins and minerals is to look at the colors on your plate. Too much brown and white…not so good. Wide variety of bright colors…muuuuch better. 
It just so happened that a lot of the vegetables I had on hand were green. Ideally, I would have liked some red bell pepper or yellow squash for even more color, but the greens were deeee-LISH! 
This was my first time making anything with brussel sprouts and I loved them. I can’t explain it, but the texture just hits the spot for me.

 
I finished this entire plate-full and was perfectly satisfied….for about ten minutes. But not because I wasn’t full, I just needed dessert!
Like this…
Then I was satisfied. 
Chicken and Vegetable Stir-Fry
Makes 3-4 servings
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups dry brown rice
2-3 tablespoons olive oil 
1 pound chicken breasts, cubed
1/2 of a medium onion, sliced (I used yellow, but any type will do)
1 cup fresh broccoli florets 
8 brussel sprouts, trimmed and halved
3-4 carrots, sliced
1/3 cup water
For the sauce:
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 tablespoons soy sauce
Directions:
1. Cook rice according to package directions.
2. Prepare the sauce by stirring cornstarch and soy sauce in a small bowl. Set aside. 
3. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
4. Once heated, add the chicken breast pieces and cook until almost done, about 4-5 minutes.
5. Add vegetable mixture and water to the skillet. Stir ingredients well and cover for about 3 minutes.
6. Remove lid, add sauce and stir. Continue to cook for another 7-8 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.
7. Serve meat and vegetables over rice.
Note: All meat and vegetables can easily be substituted with whatever you have on hand. Even frozen vegetables will do. 
Other recommended ingredients:
-Black beans
-Water chestnuts
-Bell pepper
-Cashews
2 thoughts on “Healthy Asian Stir-Fry

Leave a Reply

