Spicy Trees

No. It’s not what your thinking. Unless you still have the mind of a little kid and call broccoli “trees”.

You might have figured out already that I love sales. When it comes to grocery shopping, it is rare that I buy something not on sale. When I ran to the store to pick up food for dinner, I had broccoli in mind. But the frozen kind. When I saw that these fresh green broccoli heads were cheaper than the frozen variety, I knew it was meant to be. 
I was watching the Food Network show “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” awhile back and one lady talked about spicy broccoli. I like broccoli. I like spicy. And two rights make an extra-right. Right? 
I’ve had the idea in my head ever since and finally I would get to make it for myself. Well, not just myself, but Greg, Brooke and my mom. 
So fresh and so green, green. Ok, I’m a loser. 

I never thought I would say this, but I love vegetables. I even had a veggie sandwich for lunch. I might just turn into a vegetable. Wait….that doesn’t sound good. I take that back.
From what I remember seeing on the show about spicy broccoli, there were many more ingredients than this recipe required. For the sake of time, I stuck with the first recipe I found. It turned out to be much simpler than I was expecting, but also not quite as spicy as I would have liked.

The broccoli was only a small part of this family dinner though. I also made marinated chicken breasts. I would share the recipe for that, but honestly I have no idea what I did. I had about ten minutes to spare during my lunch break today and threw something together. It was something like olive oil, soy sauce, fresh garlic, onion, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Greg made some buttermilk mashed potatoes too. I was a bit nervous letting him take over, but they turned out great. 
The best part of finishing a homemade dinner like that though?
Thinking about this for dessert the entire time…
Don’t worry, I didn’t make this. My mom and Brooke picked this up today from Cupcake. It was every bit as good as it looks. Maybe you can’t tell, but this cupcake is GIANT. We all had big slices and there is still almost half left over. Which is nice, because I might need more in about….eh, fifteen minutes?
Spicy Broccoli
(Adapted from Food Network)
Makes 4 servings
Ingredients:
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes
3 small broccoli heads, cut into florets
1/4 cup water
Salt and pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat
2. Add crushed red pepper flakes and stir 
3. Add broccoli florets and mix to coat with oil and pepper flakes
4. Saute broccoli over medium heat for about 5-6 minutes, or until it begins to brown
5. Add salt and pepper as desired. Pour water into skillet, stir, and cover. 
6. Turn heat to low and steam for about 1-2 minutes
7. Remove from heat and serve while still hot
2 thoughts on “Spicy Trees

  1. Dinner was delicious!! Brittany is just like June Cleaver, I kid you not. The perfect hair, in a dress with an adorable apron; it was quite the total presentation!! mom

    Like

  2. Umm, umm! This great meal and you even worked at your 'out-of-the-home' job today!? These are the recipe's and kitchen hints I love to try AND eat! You are Amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

