Almost Feels Like Home

I made the trip to D.C. last night with Greg and a couple of our other friends. Morgan’s services are today, but it still doesn’t seem real. Fortunately, my oldest brother Ryan lives right outside of D.C. and is letting us crash here. Unfortunately, Ryan isn’t even here this weekend (he is visiting our family back in Ohio). It’s so weird because I was supposed to be coming here in about a month for my first visit and had already talked to Morgan about meeting up. Now I am here just a few weeks early and have to say goodbye.

Although I wish Ryan could be here, since it is in fact his place, it was so comforting walking in late last night to an apartment full of furniture from home. His kitchen table and chairs are those from our old house in Ohio. His dishes, also from home. Seeing the pictures he has of our family around the apartment were so nice to see too.

But what we all really noticed was the coffee selection! It’s like a coffee shop in this place!

And then comes the creamer selection…

We made ourselves a big pot of DD French Vanilla to wake ourselves up on this somber morning. I added the Creme Brule creamer to mine. It was excellent πŸ™‚ Thanks to Ryan’s Underground House of Fun Coffee for the service (inside family joke, just ignore if you don’t understand πŸ™‚ )

Being away from home also means no cooking. Since we got a bit of a late start, we skipped breakfast and headed straight for lunch. I remembered D.C. has CHIPOTLE! Yet another place Charleston does not have. I guess I shouldn’t complain too much. I do live in a city known for it’s distinct cuisine.

For a restaurant I used to visit almost weekly while living in Columbus, where I can find a Chipotle within a ten minute drive of wherever I am, it is so rare to me now that it’s always a special treat whenever I get to go.

No matter how healthy I try to eat, sometimes I just can’t resist the satisfaction of biting into a nice big burrito. Well, today isn’t one of those days. I couldn’t even finish my bowl today. Again, very rare.Β 

I got a Chicken Burrito Bowl with fajita veggies, tomato, corn, and just a little cheese and sour cream. I have tried holding off on the sour cream before, but have found that it helps bring all of the ingredients together. I figure it can’t hurt too much. Everything in moderation πŸ™‚
I hope everyone has a great Friday.Β 
2 thoughts on “Almost Feels Like Home

  1. My Friday is better just reading your blog! There is a reason for all the familiar things you are experiencing…they provide you with comfort and love at a time you need it most and helps in healing.
    Your choice of fajita is my favorite! Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

