Becoming More of a Foodie Every Day

Yesterday I joined in on the foodie obsession with Trader Joe’s. The first one just opened in Charleston last week and every time I drive by it’s been a madhouse. I was waiting as long as I could to go, hoping the crowd would die down a little. But, I didn’t have anything to do on my lunch break yesterday so decided I would go regardless of how busy it was.

I think I have been to a TJ’s once in my life before this. My mom and step-dad Thom have been hooked for years, but somehow I have avoided to notice how cool it really is. Our pantry at home (as in Ohio, but it will always be home to me) is stocked with Trader Joe’s products. Not to mention the car. On any road trip my family takes, you can bet there are Trader Joe’s dark chocolate covered raisins or peanut butter pretzels in the center console. I wouldn’t be surprised if my mom has already packed her snacks for her drive to Charleston this weekend 🙂 Oh, and don’t forget the Two-Buck Chucks! Bottle of wine for 2.99…sounds good to me.

I didn’t have a list (very unusual for me when it comes to any kind of shopping I do) and nothing even in mind of what I wanted to buy. I think I ended up circling the store about three times, because there was just so much to see! There were also so many people that I had to skip around aisles a bit too. I tried not to let myself buy too many unnecessary items and I’m very happy with my first TJ trip.

I am stealing this idea from a fellow blogger, but imitation is the best form of flattery, right?

My shopping bag:
(whoops! Just ignore the paper bag, I forgot my environmentally-friendly reusable one!)
  • Olive Oil Popcorn 
  • Raspberry Vinaigrette salad dressing (one of my favorite things, I could drink this stuff)
  • Raspberry preserves
  • Cocoa Powder (feel free to pronounce the ‘a’ if you wish, sometimes it just seems right)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (I was running low at home anyway and was so surprised by how inexpensive this big bottle was!)
I’m excited to try the popcorn- seems like a nice light snack. And I suppose I’ll have to make some brownies with the cocoa powder 🙂
What are your favorite things from Trader Joe’s? I’d love to know what else I need to try!
6 thoughts on “Becoming More of a Foodie Every Day

  1. TJ's gourmet black licorice is better than good and their peach nectar and Procescco for Belinni's is priced lower than other places! Salute, g

    Like

  2. You must buy the kettle corn that I told you about. It is in a light pink and white striped carnival looking bag. TDF 🙂

    Like

  3. The black licorice is a MUST. It is a Mary Green favorite….she gets it for Christmas every year.

    If you open the kettle corn, be sure there are people near by to help you eat it, otherwise you will consume the entire bag!

    I love, love, love the fresh bruschetta!!! You won't be disappointed.

    Can't wait to visit and bring you the environmentally friendly bag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

