You can have the cookie, but the frosting is for Morgan

Great family. Great boyfriend. Great job. Great place to call home.
Sometimes my life seems to be going a little too well. Then something like this happens. My heart is literally aching right now. I found out yesterday that my college roommate Morgan passed away Sunday night and I am having a really difficult time comprehending the whole thing.

We met on the swim team during my freshman year in college and were roommates for my sophomore year. Morgan was actually partly responsible for ‘hooking up’ Greg and me. She was dating one of Greg’s best friends at the time and we all had so much fun together that year. Some of my best college memories are from that year we lived together. 

Morgan was two years older than I was. So, even though we were both very different from each other, I definitely looked up to her in many ways and always asked her for advice. We haven’t been in touch very much since she moved away from Charleston after graduating, but she was the type of friend that I knew would always be there. 
I thank God everyday for the people in my life. But it’s times like these that I realize how important it is not to forget to tell your loved ones how you feel about them. God’s plan is far greater than our own and death is one of those things that will put that back into perspective in an instant.
This was Morgan and me at our swim team banquet.
And here is Morgan just being her crazy self…I can still remember that night when she was trying to ride that ridiculous bike while talking on her cell phone. She was having a difficult time to say the least. 
And here were are out with Sarah. The combination of Sarah and Morgan guaranteed some entertainment. 
The recipe I was planning on sharing is going to have to wait, because all I can think about is how the world just lost a beautiful soul in Morgan. One of the things I remember most about our time living together was the smell of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee filling our apartment every morning. This was before I even drank or liked coffee, but I loved that smell. 
And I won’t forget about the sugar cookies that she would buy and only eat the icing off of the top…leaving the cookie part for me (I do love icing too, but I wasn’t going to let a perfectly good cookie go to waste!). So, instead of my planned recipe, I am going to share the sugar cookie recipe that tastes JUST like those thick, soft, sprinkled cookies from the grocery store that Morgan and I always kept on hand.
I like to decorate each one differently. I also made a few different size circles for these. I don’t actually have a real circular cookie cutter, so assorted plastic cups and mason jars do the trick 🙂

Even more irresistible up-close, huh?
Morgan- have all the frosting off of these cookies as you want. I promise I won’t mind. Love you.
“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” -Psalm 34:18
Sugar Cookies
(Adapted from Annie’s Eats)
Makes about 3 dozen cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup butter
1 cup powdered sugar
1 egg, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups flour
Directions:
1. Using a stand-alone mixer, cream the butter
2. Add the powdered sugar until well incorporated
3. Blend in the egg, vanilla, salt and flour
4. Chill the dough until firm, about 30 minutes
5. On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to desired thickness and cut into shapes
6. Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes
7. Let cool and frost/decorate as desired
*Cookies should not brown
*I used store-bought frosting, but any variation of vanilla frosting will work well
2 thoughts on “You can have the cookie, but the frosting is for Morgan

  1. Heaven is better the World less bright until I read your comments and saw pictures and then the Light shone through again! Be Comforted!

    Like

Leave a Reply

