Lemons and Blueberries

Can you guess what the first recipe I am going to share with you is? ….Anyone?

Cupcakes! You’re right! It only seemed fitting.

Sometimes a plain vanilla or chocolate cupcake is all I need. But that can also get boring. Besides, combining different flavors and ingredients makes baking that much more fun.

When I saw this recipe a couple months ago, I knew I HAD to make them. I had heard of the lemon-blueberry combination before, but it wasn’t until I saw those pictures that I was sold. Unfortunately, while I am intrigued but new combinations, my boyfriend Greg is not. Not to mention he is “more of a salty-snack” kind of guy than a sweets or dessert kind of guy (crazy, I know). So it can be challenging trying to bake new things, because I don’t want to end up with half of the batch leftover.

Well, the perfect opportunity arose for me to bake these gorgeous treats when Greg’s parents came into town last weekend. I knew they would be able to help! Then there was another problem: time. Cupcakes from scratch take more time and effort than I could afford. Although I would love to say I made mine from scratch, for this case I wasn’t able to. You will forgive me, right?

Even with a box mix, they turned out amazing. The cake itself was light and fluffy. The lemon was not too overwhelming like I worried about, and the blueberries were plump and juicy.

Oh, and most importantly was the cupcake stand to finish it off. Thanks, Mom! It’s perfect.

Between Greg’s parents and me, we got through about half of these babies. Greg tried one. Yup, just one. Like I said, he’s more of a “salty-snack” guy. I think everyone at work appreciated it though, because they got the other half of the batch! I think they lasted about two minutes. Good to know my co-workers are willing to help out when I get a little cupcake crazy!

Lemon-Blueberry Cupcakes
(Adapted from The Kitchen Prescription)

Makes about 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:
For the cupcakes-
1 box Duncan Hines lemon flavor cake mix
3 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 1/3 cups water
Zest of 1 lemon
3 cups fresh blueberries

For the frosting-
1 can Duncan Hines cream cheese frosting
1.5 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
(Optional- yellow food coloring for frosting, assorted sprinkles for garnish)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and fill cupcake pan with lines
2. Follow directions on box to make cake mix
3. Add zest of lemon and stir
4. Add 2 cups of blueberries to batter and mix with stand alone or hand mixer for about 30 second, until all ingredients are blended
5. Scoop batter into cupcake liners until about 2/3 full
6. Bake according to package directions (mine took about 12-13 minutes)
7. Let cool and frost as desired
8. Garnish with sprinkles and remaining blueberries

One thought on “Lemons and Blueberries

Leave a Reply

